Chan is short for Chan-na, which was originally transliterated from Indian Dhyana and translated as meditative state, and it is also known as Zen, the equivalent term in Japanese. Dharma Master Bodhidharma initiated Chinese Chan Buddhism which “points directly to one’s mind and does not stand upon words” but stresses a “special transmission outside scriptures”. Through the efforts of second Patriarch Huike, third Patriarch Sengcan, fourth Patriarch Daoxin, fifth Patriarch Hongren and sixth Patriarch Huineng, Chan tradition finally turns to be the largest Buddhist school in China. As a result, Bodhidharma was honored as the first Patriarch of Chan Buddhism and Shaolin Temple renowned as the origin of Chan Buddhism.


发布日期:2010-06-02   字体大小:   
The following is a lineage chart of Chinese Chan tradition from the Twenty-eight Indian Patriarchs to the Six Chinese Patriarchs. It follows the Dharma transmission from generation to generation in an unbroken line since the time of the Buddha and provides validation of the lineage teachings.
1.       Mahakasyapa
2.       Ananda
3.       Sanavasa
4.       Upagupta
5.       Dhritaka
6.       Michaka
7.       Vasumitra
8.       Buddhanandi
9.       Buddhamitra
10.     Parsva
11.     Punyayasas
12.     Asvaghosa
13.     Kapimala
14.     Nagarjuna
15.     Kanadeva
16.     Rahulata
17.     Sanghanandi
18.     Sanghayasas
19.     Kumarata
20.     Jayata
21.     Vasubandhu
22.     Manura
23.     Haklenayasas
24.     Sinha
25.     Vasiastia
26.     Punyamitra
27.     Prajnatara
28.     Bodhidharma (the 28th Indian Patriarch, the First Chinese Chan Patriarch)

Chinese Chan Buddhism

First Patriarch: Bodhidharma

Second Patriarch: Huike

Third Patriarch: Sengcan

Fourth Patriarch: Daoxin

Fifth Patriarch: Hongren

Sixth Patriarch: Huineng


Since originally introduced by Bodhidharma and promoted by five successive patriarchs, Chinese Chan Buddhism has continuously and productively developed up till now.