Who were the most distinguished disciples of Sakyamuni?

发布日期:2019-01-11   字体大小:   

There were ten distinguished disciples: Sariputta, Moggallana, Mahakassapa, Subhuti, Punna, Mahakaccana, Anuruddha, Upali, Rahula and Ananda. Each of them had a special distinction. For example, Sariputta was known as the chief in wisdom; Moggallana, the chief in psychic power (abhinna); Upali, the first in observing vinaya rules, and Ananda, the chief of learning. Sariputta and Monggallana, the two foremost disciples in the Sangha, were most highly regarded by the Buddha. They died before the Buddha’s passing away. After the Buddha’s Parinibbana, it was Mahakassapa who acted as the leader of the Sangha, and then Ananda. (From Essentials of Buddhism: Questions and Answers)

Share: 0