What are the contents of the Pali Tipitaka?

发布日期:2018-10-12   字体大小:   

The Pali Sutta-pitaka (the “Basket of the Buddha’s Discourses”) consists of five parts:
⑴ Digha-nikaya (the Long Discourses), corresponding to the Dighagama in Chinese Tipitaka;
⑵ Majjhima-nikaya (the Middle Length Discourses), corresponding to the Madhyamagama in the Chinese Tipitaka;
⑶ Samyutta-nikaya (the discourses Organized according to Content), corresponding to the Samyukktagama in Chinese;
⑷ Angutara-nikaya (the Discourse Collection in Numerical Order), corresponding to the Ekottarikagama in the Chinese Tripitaka;
⑸ Khuddhaka-nikaya (Minor Anthologies), without complete translation in Chinese.

There are only four Agamas of Hinayana Sutta Pitaka translated to Chinese (Agama literally means collection, or collection of the Buddha’s Discourses).

The pali Vinaya-pitaka (the “Basket of Disciplines”) consists of 3 parts:
⑴ Sutta vibhanga (all of the Precepts);
⑵ Khandhaka (Procedures for Assemblies and Rules for Daily Life in the Sangha);
⑶ Parivara (Interpretation of the Rules or Appendix).
The Pali Abhidamma-pitaka (the Basket of Commentaries) consists of 7 parts:
⑴ Dhammasangani (Enumeration of Dhammas or Buddhist Psychological Ethics);
⑵ Vibhanga (The Book of Analysis);
⑶ Dhatukatha (Discourse on Elements);
⑷ Yamaka (Book of Pairs);
⑸ Patthana (Book of Causality);
⑹ Puggalapannatti (Description of Human Types);
⑺ Kathavatthu (Points of Controversy).
These 7 Sastras are important works dealing with the states of mind, analysis of the universal existence, the theory of cause and effect, etc. (From Essentials of Buddhism: Questions and Answers)

Share: 0